Skip to content

New

Skysat delivers its products throughout the European Union 🇪🇺

Article expert

Powering fishing electronics: fuses, cables, and battery isolators

The essentials in 30 seconds

  • The fuse protects the cable, not the device. It is placed as close as possible to the source, within 175 mm per ABYC E-11 (1.02 m or 1.83 m if the cable is sheathed), and its rating matches the manual.
  • Fishfinder: the fuse for the factory cable (3 A on most 7 to 9 inch units, 8 A on an ECHOMAP Ultra 2, 5 A inline on a Raymarine Element), a dedicated ignition feed, and a cross-section calculated for a 3 % voltage drop.
  • Electric motor: a Garmin Force requires a dedicated 24 or 36 V bank, a continuous 60 A circuit breaker rated for at least 42 V DC and 16 to 35 mm² depending on length; a Force Current requires 40 A and at least 32 V DC.
  • One battery isolator per bank, rated above the current and voltage; the motor bank must remain separate from house and start banks.
  • Crimped terminals sized to the stud, soldered splices then sheathed, tinned copper, torque-tightened: corrosion starts here.

Warning. A house battery can deliver several thousand amps in a short circuit; ABYC E-11 requires circuit breakers to have an interrupting rating of 1,500 to 5,000 A depending on the battery. This tutorial outlines best practices: it does not replace your device’s manual, which always takes precedence, nor a professional inspection. Disconnect the battery before working, install only ignition-protected components in a gasoline compartment (SAE J1171, ISO 8846), and have the system inspected before the first outing. The Carnac workshop and our partner installers perform these checks.

Contents

Three rules before plugging anything in

1. The fuse protects the cable. It is sized for the weakest conductor in the circuit, not for the device: ABYC E-11 requires a rating that does not exceed the current-carrying capacity of the cable, with the next standard rating tolerated up to 150 %. The device itself retains its inline fuse.

2. As close as possible to the source. ABYC E-11.10.1.1.1: each positive conductor is protected within 175 mm of its connection to the source, measured along the cable. If the cable is sheathed or run in conduit for its entire length: 1.83 m from a battery terminal, 1.02 m from a switchboard or busbar. Cable tails shorter than 175 mm are exempt.

3. The rating comes from the manual. Garmin, Simrad, Lowrance and Raymarine publish it and require keeping the original fuse holder; Garmin voids the warranty if the fuse is missing.

In Europe, ISO 13297 (electrical installations for small craft, CE marking) addresses the same points in clauses 12 and 18 and Annex E, with a voltage drop limited to 10 %, and to 3 % for safety equipment. We cite ABYC E-11 because its tables are published.

Powering a fishfinder or a combo unit

Fishing combos are 12 V devices, to be connected to the ignition or a switch, with the fuse in their cable. Values from the manuals, recorded on September 30, 2026:

Model Acceptable voltage Max consumption Fuse (manual) Cable extension (manual)
Garmin ECHOMAP UHD2 5x/7x (keypad) 9 to 18 V 8.4 W (5") 3 A fast-blow, 125 V 0.82 mm² (18 AWG) minimum
Garmin ECHOMAP UHD2 6/7/9 sv 9 to 18 V 18.3 W (7"), 20.7 W (9") 3 A fast-blow, supplied not specified
Garmin ECHOMAP Ultra 2 10/12 9 to 18 V 34 / 36 W 8 A fast-blow, supplied 1.5 mm² up to 3 m, 2.5 mm² up to 6.1 m
Lowrance Eagle 7 / 9 10.8 to 18 V 6.6 / 7.7 W 3 A recommended not specified
Lowrance Elite FS 10 to 17 V 28 W 3 A not specified
Lowrance HDS Pro 9/10 (12/16) 10.8 to 17 V 40 W (48 / 57 W) 3 A (5 A) not specified
Simrad GO XSE 7/9 (12) 10 to 17 V, 24 V excluded 12 W (20 W) 3 A ATC, in the cable not specified
Simrad NSX 3007 / 3009 / 3012 10 to 17 V 11.5 / 18.8 / 26.2 W 2 A / 3 A / 3 A not specified
Raymarine Element 7/9/12 HV 8 to 16 V 16.8 / 18 / 24 W 5 A inline, or 3 A thermal "sufficient cross-section for total load"
Furuno FCV-600 12 to 24 V 1.0 to 0.6 A see installation manual not specified

Installation instructions from Garmin, Lowrance, Simrad and Raymarine, Furuno page (list at the end of the article). Simrad accepts a circuit breaker of the closest rating instead of a fuse.

The power feed is properly set up in three ways: an inline ATO/ATC waterproof fuse holder with the manual’s fuse if the device is standalone; a 6-circuit ST Blade negative bus fuse block; or an ATO/ATC fuse per circuit, as soon as there are fishfinders, VHF and NMEA 2000; or a switchboard circuit breaker of the closest rating. On a 24 V boat, these displays are not connected directly: a 24/12 V DC-DC converter sized for the load, or a device that accepts 24 V like the Furuno FCV.

Cross-section and length: voltage drop

For electronics, ABYC E-11 limits voltage drop to 3 %, calculated over the round-trip length from the battery to the device and back. Two checks, in this order: voltage drop, then the cable’s current-carrying capacity; keep the larger of the two cross-sections. The ABYC formula, in its units: cross-section in circular mils = 10.75 × I (amperes) × L (feet, round-trip) ÷ E (allowed drop in volts, 0.36 V for 3 % on 12 V).

Direct current 3 m round-trip 6 m 9 m 12 m
5 A (fishfinder 7 to 9") 1 mm² 2.5 mm² 4 mm² 6 mm²
10 A 2.5 mm² 6 mm² 6 mm² 10 mm²
15 A 4 mm² 6 mm² 10 mm² 16 mm²
20 A 6 mm² 10 mm² 16 mm² 16 mm²
40 A (Force Current) 10 mm² 16 mm² 25 mm² 35 mm²
60 A (Force, 12 V) 16 mm² 25 mm² 35 mm² 50 mm²

Cross-sections for 3 % drop on 12 V: Skysat calculation from ABYC E-11 TABLE IX (AWG sections), converted to the next higher commercial metric section (18 AWG → 1 mm², 14 → 2.5, 12 → 4, 10 → 6, 8 → 10, 6 → 16, 4 → 25, 2 → 35, 1 → 50); ABYC allows metric sections of equivalent area. On 24 V, at equal current, the table drops by one to two steps.

Section (AWG equivalent) Current-carrying capacity outside engine compartment Inside engine compartment
1.5 mm² (16) 25 A 21.3 A
2.5 mm² (14) 35 A 29.8 A
4 mm² (12) 45 A 38.3 A
6 mm² (10) 60 A 51 A
10 mm² (8) 80 A 68 A
16 mm² (6) 120 A 102 A
25 mm² (4) 160 A 136 A
35 mm² (2) 210 A 178.5 A

ABYC E-11 TABLE VI-A, 105 °C insulation, single conductor; when grouped over more than 61 cm, conductors lose current-carrying capacity (TABLE VI-B). Since metric sections are larger than the reference AWG, their actual ampacity is at least that shown in the table.

Cables are sold by the meter: MPRX 2 × 2.5 mm², 2 × 1.5 mm² and tinned 1 mm² for a fishfinder; HI FLEX 10, 16, 25 and 35 mm² for an engine, in red and black.

Powering an electric trolling motor

A bow thruster draws high current for hours: it is the most demanding circuit on the boat. Garmin’s requirements:

Motor Battery bank Continuous current Required protection Cable
Force Kraken, Force Pro 24 or 36 V, capable of 60 A continuous 60 A (2 160 W at full power under 36 V) 60 A continuous circuit breaker, at least 42 V DC, not supplied; up to 90 A only under high heat or shared circuit, after wiring verification 1.2 m supplied; extension 16 mm² from 0 to 3 m, 25 mm² from 3 to 4.6 m, 35 mm² from 4.6 to 9.1 m, soldered and sleeved joint; 60 A plug and socket at least optional
Force Current 12 or 24 V 40 A 40 A continuous circuit breaker or fuse, at least 32 V DC 1.62 m with eyelet terminals; Skysat raw cables 16 mm², 4 m

At the battery end, Rebelcell requires « always a fuse between the battery and the motor », sized according to the motor’s manual, and offers Quick Connect cables with 60 A or 100 A fuse holders; its 24V75 EDGE and 12V75 EDGE accept 100 A continuous discharge. A lithium battery’s BMS protects the battery itself; it does not replace cable protection.

Which device? A thermal circuit breaker Blue Sea series 187 or series 285 in 60 A, rated 48 V DC by Blue Sea, covers a Force on 24 V or 36 V and serves as a switch at the helm; a 187 in 40 A is suitable for a Force Current. A MRBF 60 A terminal fuse (or 40 A) on its terminal block protects the cable from the battery, up to 58 V DC. A single device is enough if it is within 175 mm of the terminal, or 1.83 m with a sleeved cable; otherwise, MRBF at the terminal and a circuit breaker near the helm.

Breaking capacity. ABYC E-11 requires the main circuit breaker to have 1 500 A for a battery up to 650 CCA, 3 000 A up to 1 100 CCA, 5 000 A beyond; an upstream fuse may satisfy this. Blue Sea rates the MRBF at 10 000 A at 14 V (5 000 A at 32 V) and 20 000 A at 125 V DC for Class T; on a lithium bank, the recommended practice is a Class T fuse on its block at the bank’s head, with the motor’s circuit breaker downstream.

Battery switch and bank isolation

Each bank has its own battery switch on the positive, rated above the continuous current and voltage. According to Blue Sea datasheets, an m-Series mini handles 300 A continuous at 48 V DC, IP66, flame-resistant; an e-Series 350 A at 48 V DC; the HD series reaches 600 A but stops at 32 V DC and is not suitable for a 36 V bank. Negatives are joined on a busbar, never by stacking terminals on a single post.

Separating battery banks is not a luxury: Garmin requires for the Force a 24 V or 36 V bank capable of 60 A continuous, Raymarine demands for the Element a battery separate from the starter battery, Simrad forbids taking power from the NMEA 2000 network on the terminals of the starter battery, the autopilot computer or the bow thruster. One bank for the engine, one for the house loads and electronics, the starter battery separate: three battery isolators.

Protect the NMEA 2000 network

The bus has its own 12 V power supply, protected by a 3 A fuse (Garmin’s power cable integrates it, Simrad requires it), injected at a single point and switched by the ignition or a switch; otherwise bus devices drain the battery when stopped. Garmin forbids 24 V; bus devices operate between 9 and 16 V, a LEN draws 50 mA. Architecture, lengths and diagnostics are in our article NMEA 2000; power cables are in the network collection.

Connections and corrosion

ABYC E-11.16 sets the standard: ring or captive fork terminals sized to the stud; no terminal blocks; soldering is never the sole mechanical fastening method. Garmin extends the Force cable with a soldered junction under heat-shrink tubing and, at Force Pro service, requires terminal nuts tightened to 4 N·m with corrosion brushed off. Rebelcell mandates M8 terminals tightened with a wrench and forbids crocodile clips. Blue Sea publishes its torque values: 13.56 N·m on an m-Series, 15.82 N·m on an e-Series.

In our catalogue: 16/8 tinned copper tubular terminals, 25/8 and 35/8 for engine cables, insulated ring terminals or Ancor heat-shrink ring terminals for transducer leads, heat-shrink adhesive-lined sleeving per meter or in 4:1 ratio. The Rebelcell ANEN SA50 connector is rated 50 A and 16 mm²: enough for a Force Current (40 A), not for a Force, for which Garmin requires at least a 60 A socket.

Limits and pitfalls

  • No installation is documented by the workshop: this guide is based on ABYC E-11, ISO 13297 and the cited manuals, not on a Skysat job site.
  • Manuals take precedence: a wire size or section published here does not override those in your device manual; Garmin ties its warranty to the original fuse.
  • Wire gauge table is a calculation derived from ABYC tables at 12 V; the 36 V table is absent, so we apply the Garmin table and, where missing, the 24 V table.
  • Blue Sea interrupt ratings and voltages come from the manufacturer’s datasheets; ISO 13297 is cited from its public summary, the full text is paywalled.
  • Gasoline compartment: only ignition-protected components are allowed inside; a circuit breaker or uncertified block must be installed outside.

Workshop verdict

  • A standalone 7 to 9 inch depth sounder for a 12 V boat: start via ignition, inline fuse block with the fuse specified in the manual, 2.5 mm² up to 6 m round trip, 4 mm² up to 9 m, 6 mm² up to 12 m; crimped terminals, adhesive-lined heat shrink tubing.
  • Depth sounder, VHF and NMEA 2000: ST Blade block with negative bus, one fuse per circuit, 3 A dedicated to the bus, all circuits cut by the ignition.
  • Force bow motor in 24 or 36 V: dedicated battery bank, 60 A MRBF on the terminal or 187/285 60 A circuit breaker within 175 mm, minimum 16 mm² and 25 to 35 mm² from 3 m extension onwards, m-Series or e-Series battery switch, Class T at the battery bank head if lithium. Have it checked before the first outing.
  • Force Current in 12 or 24 V: 40 A protection rated at least 32 V DC, 16 mm², M8 terminals on the battery, 50 A connector for quick disconnect.

Sources

  • ABYC E-11: §11.10.1, §11.14.2.6-7, TABLE IV-A, VI-A and IX, excerpts published by Paneltronics; tables IX and X reproduced by BoatHowTo; §11.16 cited from Practical Sailor and Marine How To.
  • ISO 13297:2020, Small craft — Electrical systems — Alternating and direct current installations (public summary: clauses 12, 18, annex E).
  • Garmin: Force Kraken Installation Instructions, Force Kraken, Force Pro and Force Current manuals, ECHOMAP UHD2 and Ultra 2 instructions, Technical Reference NMEA 2000.
  • Lowrance: Eagle 7 & 9, Elite FS, HDS PRO installation guides; Simrad: GO XSE and NSX manuals; Raymarine: Element 87360 rev 6, §4.3 and §8.1; Furuno: FCV-600 page.
  • Rebelcell: Use, maintenance, charging and connection, 36V70 BT manual. Blue Sea Systems: MRBF specifications, Class T, 187 and 285 series, m-Series, e-Series and HD published on manufacturer datasheets.

Read also

Disclosure: Skysat distributes Blue Sea Systems, BEP, Garmin, Lowrance, Simrad, Raymarine, Furuno and Rebelcell, and sells its own cut-to-length cables and terminals; links point to our catalogue. Article neither sponsored nor reviewed by the brands listed.

Leave A Comment

FAQ

Which fuse for a depth sounder?

The one specified in the manual, on the original cable: 3 A on ECHOMAP UHD2, Simrad GO, Elite FS and HDS Pro 9 or 10, 3 A recommended on Eagle 7 and 9, 8 A on ECHOMAP Ultra 2, 5 A inline or 3 A thermal on Raymarine Element, 5 A on HDS Pro 12 and 16. Never remove the fuse holder from the cable.

Where to place the fuse or circuit breaker?

As close as possible to the source: ABYC E-11 requires a maximum of 175 mm along the conductor, up to 1.83 m from a battery terminal or 1.02 m from a switchboard if the cable is sheathed along its entire length. An MRBF fuse at the battery terminal resolves the issue for a dedicated battery.

What cable cross-section for a 60 A electric motor?

Garmin requires a minimum of 16 mm² to extend the cable of a Force Kraken or Force Pro, and recommends 25 mm² from 3 to 4.6 m extension, 35 mm² from 4.6 to 9.1 m. The ABYC table at 3 % in 24 V gives the same order of magnitude. Solder and heat-shrink tubing with adhesive for the joint, tubular crimp terminals at the ends.

Circuit breaker or fuse for the electric motor?

Garmin accepts both, rated for the motor’s DC current: 60 A and at least 42 V DC for a Force, 40 A and at least 32 V DC for a Force Current. The thermal circuit breaker resets and acts as a disconnect; it must have the interrupting rating required by ABYC E-11, otherwise an upstream fuse complements it.

Is a battery switch required for the electric motor?

Yes, one per bank, on the positive side, rated above the bank’s DC current and voltage: a Blue Sea m-Series or e-Series accepts 48 V DC, an HD stops at 32 V and is unsuitable for a 36 V bank. The motor bank must remain separate from house and starting banks.

Can a 12 V depth sounder be connected on a 24 V boat?

Not directly: Simrad excludes 24 V networks for the GO XSE, Garmin, Lowrance and Raymarine cap between 16 and 18 V. A 24/12 V DC-DC converter sized for the load is required, or an instrument that accepts 24 V such as the Furuno FCV-600 and FCV-800.

Does the NMEA 2000 network need its own fuse?

Yes: a dedicated 12 V supply protected by a 3 A fuse, switched with the ignition or a switch, injected at a single point on the bus. Simrad requires it never to be taken from the starting battery terminals, autopilot computer or bow thruster; Garmin prohibits 24 V.

How to prevent corrosion at connections?

Tinned copper cable, ring terminals crimped to the bolt size, soldered joints then covered with adhesive-lined heat-shrink tubing, never terminal blocks or solder alone, tightened to torque and inspected each season: Garmin requires checking the Force motor nuts and brushing off corrosion, Rebelcell prohibits alligator clips.